What Works For Me 58/365 HOLY Thursday

There’s a saying I was heard that whatever you are doing on New Year’s Day you will be doing for the rest of the year.  So on New Year’s Day this year I plucked up the courage to join the choir at St Ignatius for Sunday Night Masses. It has been an awesome experience.  I sing soprano and so usually do the melody with a few others when the other parts are happening but it still feels like magic every time the choir starts singing in parts and the different notes all blend into something wonderful.  The congregation often applauds at the end of the final hymn and I always wonder why because to me it is just a group of people making their contribution to the Mass.

The knock on effect from all of this is that Eric was asked to become an altar server and he has adapted to this role with great relish.  So between the choir for me and altar serving for him we have a very busy Easter ahead of us.

Last night I was able to get away from work early enough to attend Mass for Holy Thursday.  For many years I’ve thought that I *should* go to Mass on Holy Thursday but it hasn’t happened since I was still at home at Ashgrove.  After last night’s experience I don’t think I would ever want to miss Holy Thursday ever again.  I was tired from the Easter festivities at work – parading, easter egg hunting, crafting, crowd control etc etc etc and I think that has been the case for many years – but I drove through the city in record time and was able to take a breath before Mass.

The music was difficult in parts because there are many hymns and chants that are only used at this time of the year and that were unfamiliar to me but the work we put into rehearsing them was very satisfying.  At the end of Mass on Holy Thursday the Blessed Sacrament is moved from the Tabernacle to another location until after Good Friday.  There was a procession out of the church led by the priests with candles and special robes and we sang the refrain, “Jesus, remember me when you come into Your Kingdom” over and over, down the stairs of the church, around the back of the building and into the hall below.  The mood in the hall was quiet, reverent and prayerful and after one final hymn we left in silence.

The silence was refreshing for me.  So much so that when I turned my car on to go home and the radio came on I turned it off straight away and just drove, savouring the silence.

Today is Good Friday which for my family traditionally means sleeping in, hot cross buns and maybe a good “Jesus” movie but Eric and I will be at Church this afternoon for the celebration of the Lord’s Passion.  It won’t be as “quiet” as the end of last night but still very meaningful.

Leave a Reply

