What Works For Me 6/365 The Dishwasher

It’s simple one tonight but one that makes a big difference.  Now that I have lived with one in this house I would never want to live without a dishwasher.  It is especially wonderful tonight because we have entertained Eric’s best mate and his parents – a dinner party that was long overdue – but it is just as wonderful on other days and nights too.  We have a small cramped, badly planned (not by us) kitchen so while we can wash up by hand the logistics are ridiculous – nowhere to put clean dishes for example – the dishwasher just makes it all easier.  The plates, cups, glasses and utensils all “disappear” and we are left with a fairly manageable pile of pots and pans or maybe one pot if we are lucky.

The dishwasher gets better and better as the boys get older too.  I must admit there were those around here who were not too receptive to the idea of the boys loading or unloading the dishwasher.  The first issue was that they couldn’t reach up to the high cupboards to put things away.  I dealt with that by moving the things off the top pantry shelf which below my waist level and putting in one set of basic plates and bowls we would use every day.  That solved that.  Issue #2 was that *no one* could load the thing correctly.  One night when it was loaded correctly by the one who had the “issue” I checked that it was in fact loaded correctly and then took a photo which I laminated and stuck up on the neighbouring cupboard door. That was hugely successful and I must admit when I often refer to the photo myself – one less thing to think about.

So now we have the dishwasher unloaded fairly reliably every morning, we fill it up during the day and run it at night.  If we do a lot of food preparation, cooking or entertaining during the day it may get more than one run.  I haven’t researched it much but this article claims that the dishwasher compared to hand washing has a smaller carbon footprint.  And I do know it gets the dishes cleaner.

I’ve got lots of friends with much flasher kitchens than mine – including the most notable one we saw this week with two built in ovens, two built in microwaves and a butler’s pantry – but as long as I have my dishwasher I can put up with my poky little kitchen for a while longer.

3 Comments on “What Works For Me 6/365 The Dishwasher”

  1. Lynette says:

    Way to beat the negativity with positive actions. You rock girl. My dishwasher is on the blink, I’m going mad without it.

  2. Jen in Oz says:

    I love my dishwasher too. I was always worried about the soap powder around the kids but now they have the tablets with a little wrapper I am happy to let any of my kids load and run the dishwasher.

    Good on you for looking for the good stuff.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

  3. Lorraine says:

    I thought I’d miss my dishwasher more than I did while we were away in the van but I packed only enough plates and bowls for one meal so the dishes never built up and because it was a relatively small amount to wash each time (even though there are 6 of us) the boys didn’t grumble about taking turns.

    I do love my dishwasher for busy days at home though – when washing up several times a day isn’t an option.


Leave a Reply

