Christmas Cooking

I had a bit of fun cooking for Christmas this year.  I didn’t stick to Weight Watchers principles because as my very wise WW leader said, “It isn’t what you eat between Christmas and New Year that matters but what you eat between New Year and Christmas.”  So I didn’t scour the Internet for recipes that were low fat but edible and rack my brains trying to make everything healthy.  I just let go and enjoyed Christmas and the cooking that could be done.

I made shortbread for the first time.  I’d never been interested in it when I was younger then when I got married my MIL’s best friend (from Scotland) made (and still makes) the best shortbread ever.  So even though we never got to have J’s shortbread on a regular basis I never thought mine would measure up.  But you know what?  Mine didn’t need to measure up.  It was what I made, it tasted and smelt great and everyone agreed that it had that nice shortbread texture helped along by the rice flour of course.  I drizzled my first batch (stars) with white chocolate and they were gone by Christmas.  So last night, in preparation for today’s gathering, I made another batch (Christmas Trees) but the “drizzling” didn’t go too well. I normally put some choc melts in a snap lock bag and put the bag in some hot water to melt the melts then snip off a corner and drizzle.  Last night I think a drop of water must have found it’s way in to the chocolate because the drizzling was more like er – plopping in unattractive lumps.  However it all still tastes good and we had a good laugh in the kitchen when dh and D were waiting to assist with the mini m&m decorations.

The other thing I was really happy with was my batch of Rudolph Chocolate Tartlets.  They consisted of a biscuit base and yummy chocolate filling (most definitely a Christmas treat!!!).  Then I decorated them at my sister-in-law’s place with the help of my 21 year old niece.  Apparently doing *anything* in the kitchen is a foreign concept to this girl so I think it was regarded as a Christmas miracle when she was standing beside me doing reindeer eyes.  These were very easy to decorate and so effective so I’m confident I will be reprising them in 2012.  Today I did the same tartlets but with a holly decoration and they were just as yummy.

The other treats on the table today were “Christmas Ice” – coconut ice in Christmas colours of red and green and little pancetta frittatas.  All was well received and most of the time I enjoyed the preparation and presentation.  Christmas is probably the only time I really have the chance to stand around and “decorate” food so I made the most of it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments on “Christmas Cooking”

  1. Trish says:

    yes and we won’t mention your 2yo nephew thinking one of the little pancetta frittatas was a cupcake..and then promptly trying to throw it up..eww. 🙂 will get a piccie of the new cross stitch to you soon 😉 T x


Leave a Reply

