Step by Step back to “normal” life

Or as normal as it ever gets!  I’ve officially been cleared to work again, I’m no longer wearing splints and walking longer and longer distances until i start limping again and need to stop.  I did alarm the physio with a very swollen left ankle (the fractured tibia one) on Friday night so I am taped up for the duration of the long weekend but flesh coloured tape is much less conspicuous than big black lace up splints.

There are so many things you take for granted until you have your mobility taken away from you.  I’m really enjoying things like:

having a shower standing up

carrying things around from one place to another

walking around places

being able to get up off chairs

getting my own cup of coffee and indeed getting cuppas for other people

walking along hand in hand with my little boy

DRIVING – even though I have to use Anthony’s car for the time being.

I’m in the process of transitioning from convalescence to supply teaching again and I feel as if I am launching myself onto the world as a whole new person.  A wise person told me that all these thigns happen for a reason and I found that statement hard to take as I hobbled around on crutches. But now, as I find myself on the way out of it all I believe she may have known what she was talking about after all.

2 Comments on “Step by Step back to “normal” life”

  1. Jen in NSW says:

    Glad to hear that you are feeling lots better physically. Seems like you may be feeling a whole lot better emotionally too. Good luck, and please take care of you. Don’t rush your healing process for your ankles or your mind.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

  2. wjcsydney says:

    So glad you are on your way back to nomal. And it sounds as if there has been lots of healing – and not just your ankles…


Leave a Reply

