What do I really need right now?

Thanks to a very generous friend who has negotiated her way through peak hour traffic to pick me up last Thursday and the Thursday, I’ve been able to re-join Weight Watchers and start again.  I know that quite a few people who know me well will be saying to themselves, “Here she goes again. What will be different this time?”

Well, there are quite a few differences already.  I’ve got a Chronic Condition Health Care plan set in place by my wonderful GP which will give me access to an exercise physiologist (a cross between a personal trainer and a physiotherapist).  My GP will be keeping a closer eye on things and the nurse who is part of the practice will keep up with me too.

I am still seeing my wonderful physio as my ankles continue to heal and he and I have been discussing possible exercise options for now while my ankles are still quite wobbly and weak and later when I can do more weight bearing exercise.

I’ve been to the gym and was quietly pedalling the recumbent bike as I had been instructed by the physio when the trainer asked if I would like to join in a weights circuit with three other ladies.  After a bit of encouragement from him, I did join in and much to my amazement, I was able to complete a 45 minute circuit with very few modifications.  It was the most amazing feeling to do that successfully.

I’ve got a great circle of friends who are “in the loop” about my efforts and are encouraging me every step of the way. Eric is right behind me cheering me on and Daniel, who still lacks tact and diplomacy at almost 8, has asked whether my big belly (which he illustrates by holding his arms out wide) to going to shrink up to the size of his belly.  Probably a bit extreme but he is being positive in his own way.

One of my friends is going to join the same Weight Watchers meeting as me so I will be meeting up with her each week.  I can’t say how glad I am about this.  Not only will I get a free pampering session and she a 3 month movie pass due to a membership promotion but I will look forward to seeing someone each week who is truly on my side and has much the same dry sense of humour as myself.

However the number 1 things are weighing in each week (which involves fronting up the the very formidable Carol) and staying for the meeting.  I certainly won’t paraphrase the meeting content here because if you want that you should really go to Weight Watchers yourself. But when we recieve information, we all process it in different ways and take away our own responses and hopefully, action plans.

This week was all about monitoring hunger signals.  We discussed the difference between being so hungry that you would eat almost anything to having eaten so much that you feel like your clothes would burst.  Ideally we should aim for something in between.  That is going to happen for different people in different ways but for me hunger signals are controlled when I eat small amounts often during the day, keep moving and maintain my water intake.  Please excuse me for a moment while I uncap my trusty water bottle and take a big swig.

 

 

 

 

Ah, that’s better.

We have discussed many mantras and saying that we can use to keep our goals in mind and to stay on track.  It was recommended that we have a saying that describes ourselves at a healthy weight in the present tense and includes some tings we can do or have achieved.  Mine is:

I am slim, fit and focussed.

Then I thought more about what would help me to monitor my hunger signals and indeed, lots of other signals from my body and I came up with this:

What do I really need right now?

Some of the answers to that question in the last few days have been:

salad instead of chips

baked fish instead of crumbed fish

more water instead of more coffee

one small dessert that I really liked instead of just eating dessert whenever it was offered whether I really liked it or not

doing my physio stretches

walking a few more steps

keeping up with my pain relief so I could keep up with moving more and healing faster

not staying up for the end of the movie/tv show but going to bed when I needed to

taking a nap during the day when I needed it

doing something pleasurable during the day

talking to people who woud help me with making good choices

So far in one week I have lost one kilo.  But that isn’t really important in the big scheme of things because I have gained so many other really important things.

5 Comments on “What do I really need right now?”

  1. Angela says:

    I am so proud of you! You know, what you write in your posts can often be helpful to others. As I read your post today, a lot of info gelled for me eventhough weight-loss as such isnt a concern for me at the moment. As you say, losing the kilo isnt actually the most important thing, but problably just a ‘side-effect’ if you like of all the ‘good choices’ you are making. Many of those ‘good choices’ you listed there under ‘what do I really need right now’ could be applicable to many of us. It is not easy for sure, but I think you have made a wise choice for your mantra, not only for your physical but also emotional and spiritual fitness and probably other facets as well. And I for one am going to get right on board with you and do the same thing (again, as I have had to concentrate on this very same mantra once or twice before in my lifes journey)! Thank you for a timely reminder of the importance of awareness of one’s own personal needs – to ask the question, and make better choices in the pursuit of balance and harmony.

  2. Jen in NSW says:

    I am thinking I could do with making some better choices too. Looks like your list is pretty good, especially the water and dessert parts. They are things I struggle with too.

    I am glad to hear you are getting things together. Having a plan and a safety net of encouragers will be a big help.

    Best wishes
    Jen in NSW

  3. Trish says:

    hmmm. you make no mention of a sister who did a two hour(!) round trip via ashgrove and toowong to get you to a “therapeutic” appointment and back again!! good luck with the ww.

  4. wjcsydney says:

    Go, Tess. Sounds like things are on the improve!

  5. Ms Fifikins says:

    Go Te-ess, Go Te-ess!


Leave a Reply

