Another Knitting Metaphor

A very dear friend of mine has recently taken up knitting.  I am absolutely thrilled about this as it almost feels like I have a knitting protegee.  I only wish we lived closer to each other so we could sit down together with some good coffee and yarn – and knit. LOL!

Her first project was, quite wisely, a cotton discloth which she knitted over teh course of about a day.  I told my boys about her starting knitting and how she’d finisheda project that took a day and Daniel was heard to remark, “Well she must be a much better knitter than you!”  At age almost 8 he lacks a lot of diplomacy and can put people in tehir place very abruptly.

When my friend’s first project was finished, she sent me a text saying that it had a bit of a factory second look about it.  That immediately reminded me of my dream balnket that I began knitting during a time when things weren’t going very well.  The first panel had many, many mistakes but as I progressed there were hardly any.  I’m not attempting to fix the mistakes because they are not enough to make the blanket unravel and just like certain events they will be around in the future where they will remind me of where I was a at that time.  It is something like how most people will remember exactly where they were when the recent royal wedding was taking place.

My dear friend, the new knitter, has also faced some challenges lately.  I’m hoping she will be able to look back at her dishcloth sometime in the future with its slight imperfections and to remember how she went on to re-shape her life after some hurdles.  I hope she also recalls how the simple repetitive movements gave her some momentary serenity and calm in teh middle of some turbulence.  There is no doubt in my mind that she will get through this “rough patch” and be even stronger and wiser for doing so.  And in the meantime, she can just keep knitting!

One Comment on “Another Knitting Metaphor”

  1. Angela says:

    I read your post and want to share a similar take on the theme. I recently posted it on facebook because it resonated with me. I hope it does the same for you….

    An elderly Chinese woman had two large pots, each hung on the ends of a pole which she carried across her neck.

    One of the pots had a crack in it while the other pot was perfect and always delivered a full portion of water.

    At the end of the long walks from the stream to the house, the cracked pot arrived only half full.

    For a full two years this went on daily, with the woman bringing home only one and a half pots of water.

    Of course, the perfect pot was proud of its accomplishments.
    But the poor cracked pot was ashamed of its own imperfection, and miserable that it could only do half of what it had been made to do.

    After two years of what it perceived to be bitter failure, it spoke to the woman one day by the stream.

    ‘I am ashamed of myself, because this crack in my side causes water to leak out all the way back to your house.’

    The old woman smiled, ‘Did you notice that there are flowers on your side of the path, but not on the other pot’s side?’

    ‘That’s because I have always known about your flaw, so I planted flower seeds on your side of the path, and every day while we walk back, you water them.’

    For two years I have been able to pick these beautiful flowers to decorate the table.

    Without you being just the way you are, there would not be this beauty to grace the house.’


Leave a Reply

