What Would You Tell Your Best Friend To Do

I’ve got a rather nasty cold/upper respiratory tract infection – sore throat, coughing like one thing, head full of gunk, constant headache, aches and pains – in fact I think even my fingernails are hurting.  The trouble is, there is never really a good time to get sick.  There is a lot on at work getting ready for an event that starts next week and of course the demands of this household are never ending.

But this morning I had to bite the bullet, call in sick and retreat to the bed/recliner for the day.  It felt bad doing it because I already had the mental list of things I wanted to get done today and no doubt my memory would have been jogged when I opened up my e-mail and saw even more reminders.   But today I needed to let it all go and I asked myself what I would tell one of my best mates to do and then I did it.  I slept a lot, watched TV, did a bit of knitting and spent a bit of time on line.  I did tidy some things up and empty the dishwasher but I didn’t do washing or heavy cleaning.  I kept up with my fluid intake and the salt water spray for my nose.  I didn’t wonder if I might need the asthma inhaler – I went and got it out and used it.

I’m not better yet but it has been so nice to just not struggle and surrender if even for just one day!

Leave a Reply

