What’s New Pussy Cat?

There are LOTS of new things in my life at the moment (and lots of things are staying the same which is somewhat reassuring).  Biggest thing is the change from teaching to working in the museum system, working in an office instead of a school and most of all having flexible working hours.  So without further ado I give you my list of new things in my life:

If I get up the road early enough I can buy a paper on my way to work.

I’ve got enough flexi-time and TOIL saved up to have two days off.

I have a telephone beside me for most of the day – this has been a big adjustment and I still jump sometimes when it rings.

I get to use a radio and “radio jargon” when I’m working on my own or in a distant part of the museum – Roger that. Over and out.

I’ve learnt to use a drill with screwdriver to fasten and unfasten screws – it is the first time in my life I have ever handled a power tool.

On many days I can set my little to-do list for the day and then get to do most of things on my list – there are not too many unexpected things that come along.

I have a corner of a cubicle to call my own – much smaller space to look after than a classroom.

I push trolleys everywhere almost every day.

I’ve driven a ute.

I’ve worked on a Sunday and been paid for it.

My colleagues in my team often spend the day working just 2-3 metres away from me – sooooo different to only seeing people over lunch and afternoon tea!

I can skip making my lunch any day of the week and buy it.

I can set my own agenda to a certain extent and do the things that require more brain power in the morning when I’m at my best (after a coffee!)

I get to plan things and prepare things thoroughly so that I can deliver learning experiences of a very high quality.

I don’t do playground duty – ever!

Wet weather at lunch time just means that some hot food may go down nicely rather than camping out in a classroom gulping down a sandwich in the corner if I’m lucky.

I imagine there will be those who read this list and say so what? But these things listed are all pretty big for me because I was NEVER going to leave teaching.  I don;t think I’m going to say “never” again about anything after the past 12 months so I may go back to the classroom some day.  But f I do my life and career will be so much the richer for having had this experience of a working life outside the classroom no matter how long it lasts.

Leave a Reply

