In Stitches – Giveaway Announcement

I am getting things somewhat more organised around here in anticipation of starting the new job Monday week but I’ve come to realize that I won’t get everything organised – I mean do we ever? – and that I should do a few things that I maybe won’t be able to do for a while.  I’m certainly not going to give up my crafting but it could be a while before I have the luxury of spending most of a day at Threads and More as I did on Tuesday.  The event was Apron In An Hour – Return of the Housewife and while I certainly am not going to be a housewife at any time soon I do have a pretty groovy apron to inspire me for when I do.  Louise Stuart was the teacher and much to my delight she is into ironing rather than pinning and lots of little tricks and tips to make the whole sewing process easier and quicker.  She sells the kits for these aprons from her site and they are also available at Threads and More.  They are $25 for the kit which comes with the instructions and 2-3 pieces of coordinating fabric already cut.  That in itself immediately reduces stress because it renders a trip to Spotlight unnecessary.  I had the boys choose my fabric for the first apron I made after perusing what they had a Threads and More and deciding that I could happily live with any of their delicious combinations.  Then when I’d completed the first one in Japanese Ninja type fabric I decided to choose a more “girly” feel for my second apron.  Anissa challenged me to se if I could actually produce an apron in an hour and I did it is exactly that time.  If I hadn’t stopped to chat to a few people I probably could have done it under the hour.

Perhaps the real star of the show however was the machine I was using.  Mum bought her Husqvarna in 1975 to make me clothes for pre-school and has had it ever since, getting it serviced every few years, so that it still runs like a champion.  This picture isn’t Mum’s machine but is very similar.  There is not an on-board computer or digital display to be seen but it does everything we need it too and sounds just divine – much less “clattery” than some of it’s more modern cousins that were present on Tuesday.  Lynda was very excited and would have made Mum an offer on the spot for it (except it isn’t for sale!) and a number of shop customers who weren’t in the class came along and looked it over during the time I was there.

Now did I say “Giveaway”? I did! June 25 is my 1st “blog-a-versary” and I thought I might use my second apron (the girly one) as a giveaway to one of my readers to celebrate this event.  If you would like to become the proud owner of this apron hand made by me please leave a comment on this post and I will draw a winner at random on June 25.

8 Comments on “In Stitches – Giveaway Announcement”

  1. Wendy says:

    Tess, both aprons look absolutely gorgeous. I would love to win one. Best of luck for starting the new job – it sounds very exciting.

  2. tanja says:

    Tess – I am so glad you sound so happy and excited about the new job – whilst I know you loved teaching soemtimes I felt that your desire to give everything o it at times got in the way of the rest of your life – now hopefully this will give you the educatuon side you love without having to take it home with you which will mean more quality time for your family – the aprons look gorgeous and who knows with flexitime you will still be able to plan extra tess time

    Big hugs

  3. They are both adorable! I would love to win one. The bow and colors are fabulous.

  4. Genaine says:

    Tess

    You seem like you are in a great place at the moment. I’m so happy for you. Great job with the aprons. Sewing is one thing I have never been able to master.

  5. Fifikins says:

    I vote you should make a train apron 🙂

  6. I can definitely see a train apron in my future. I have also been having visions of a huge knitted scarf around the funnel of the train that sits outside the Rail Museum!

  7. anissa says:

    o.k i am not commenting because i want the apron, as i already have one, not as gorgoeous as yours though!! but i want to say, the boys look absolutely smashing in their little ensembles!!! god bless ’em!

  8. Oh dear! I promised them no one would ever know it was them modelling the aprons because I was only taking a photo of the aprons!


Leave a Reply

