Mothers Day

I think Mothers Day went well for me this year because I let go of any expectations.  We’ve been struggling money wise since I haven’t been working full time so I knew there would be no big surprises or special treats.  It turns out that most of the treats were things that cost no money at all.  I started preparing for Mother’s Day early in a sense because being a Year 1 parent I had the opportunity to help on the school Mothers Day stall.  So for the past few months, in between other projects, I’ve knitted a series of cotton face washers in moss stitch.  I managed to complete 8 and they were sold very quickly so perhaps I should aim for a few more next year.

The celebrations started on Friday with a Mass for mothers which has now become an annual event at the boys’ school.  I went along even though I knew it would feel a bit strange sitting up the back on my own instead of being with a class.  During his homily, Fr Peter told the children to go and put their hands on their Mums if they were present.  I could just imagine the teachers cringing at the chaos which ensued however my two boys found me and laid their hands on me, repeating a blessing by Father Peter so it was very special.  After Mass I spent several hours working on the Mothers Day stall mainly taking the money.  I was careful to “avert the eyes” when my boys were shopping for their presents and I really enjoyed watching the very careful shoppers making their selections.  I gave Eric money for presents and raffle tickets and he was clever enough to win me one of the raffle prizes – a large white platter decorated with raised olives.  I can see myself putting it to good use at the next Book Club gathering at my place and at the big celebration we will be having for Eric’s Confirmation and First Eucharist in a few weeks.

On Saturday night I was asked to specify the time until which I would sleep in and at the appointed hour on Sunday morning  the boys came in bearing gifts and then served breakfast in bed. Coffee and croissants – what a great start to the day!  Eric then surprised me by standing at the foot of the bed and reading out a POEM he had written in my honour. Wow!  I will publish it here but at present it is back at school for possible publication in the school newsletter.  I am very impressed!  In amongst the gifts bought by the boys there was also a voucher for a pedicure and manicure purchased by dh.  I spent a quiet Sunday pottering around and on Monday night we went out for dinner.  A pretty good celebration all round with just the right amounts of everything.

One Comment on “Mothers Day”

  1. Wendy says:

    Wow – you were spoiled. Sounds a really amazing day. I didn’t get a card or present (she can’t write atm – hand splint and that made shopping too difficult too) and the poor girl was too sick to come to the lunch DH had booked for all 3 of us.


Leave a Reply

