Dipping My Toe In

I was in a classroom with an interactive whiteboard today so I thought I’d try finding something on-line to help spice up the lesson I had to do on climate, weather and seasons.  I ended up going with this Australian website but it wasn’t all that engaging for a lively group of Year 4s.  So I’ve got something in my arsenal for next time I’ve been hunting tonight for on-line resources that can be used with IWBs and I’ve saved the sites below to my delicious account so that I can try accessing them at different schools when I have the time.  So far I’ve found a lot for lower primary and not as much for upper primary and I will have to try them at various schools to see if they get through firewalls etc but it is a start.

I’m such a newbie at all of this that I was surprised to find classroom management tools on some sites – timers, weather and date charts etc etc.  There will be so much I can use when I get to have my own class again but for now I’ll just dip my toe into this brave new world and try out a few things when I get the opportunity.

If anyone has something else wonderful to suggest that I could be using or wonderful ideas on utilizing IWBs when relief teaching please let me know in the comments section.

4 Comments on “Dipping My Toe In”

  1. Rantz says:

    Congratulations on getting your toes wet and good luck for finding more resources for what can be an amazing tool.

  2. allanahphoto says:

    Thanks for the class blog comment. Kids really appreciate others commenting on the blog.

    As a reliever you might find this as a great resource for getting the kids to get with it.

    http://www.online-stopwatch.com/full-screen-stopwatch/

    Set it to countdown time left to finish their work.

    Also here are some of my IWB resources

    http://delicious.com/AllanahK/IWB

    Good luck

    Allanah

    Moturoa Classroom

  3. Thank-you for the great links Allanah! I really liked your class blog and I’ve put it in my Google reader to keep an eye on!

  4. […] Dipping My Toe In March 2010 3 comments […]


Leave a Reply

